Flame in the Mist

233080871

By Renee Ahdieh

Rating: 4.5/5

Review: I think I can confirm that Renee Ahdieh is probably one of my all-time favorite authors in the entire universe. She was the one who wrote #1 NYT best-selling duology The Wrath and the Dawn (read my review here), and so I knew going into this book that it was going to be just as good.

Safe to say, Renee did not disappoint.

I was a little scared before starting this book as I had read many negative reviews, but I honestly loved this book. I wasn’t bored at all while reading this, and the added romance was cute to read. I really appreciated how Mariko’s relationship wasn’t the main focus of the book, and there were several moments when I was like “YES GIRL”, because Mariko is a badass and doesn’t take shit from anyone.

I honestly love Renee’s style of writing; it’s very whimsical and pretty, and every word she weaves together is perfect. She’s quite gifted in imagery, and it’s very easy to imagine the scene taking place as she includes such vivid details. She’s one of the few authors who can make you feel like you’re really there where the story is taking place.

I think the main reason why this book didn’t go over so well with many people is that they were expecting it to be a retelling of Mulan…which it is to an extent. There are vague references to Mulan, but Flame in the Mist is its own story (the story itself is set in feudal Japan, not China).

I am beyond excited for the next book, and I already know it’s going to be great!! ❤ I’m looking forward to the mystery being solved, seeing more of the Black Clan, of Ranmaru and Okami, and I hope everything with her brother turns out okay.

Favorite Quote“I believe the stars align so souls can find one another. Whether they are meant to be souls in love or souls in life remains to be seen.”

And the entire book. 

3 thoughts on “Flame in the Mist

  1. Great Review! I want to read Flame in the Mist as soon as possible. I am glad you enjoyed it because a lot of people I really trust got disappointed by it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

